//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Brett Hansen intro

Hello boys & girls–if you’re interested, I’m about to share a bit about myself as is relevant to the class. Gaming has always been a notable part in my life, though in the past year my many other interests have been the ones more frequently explored. I play sports, particularly hoops in which I was an All-City forward back in the dayday; I am a pretty legit film fanatic, and you can also sub in “comic” there too; and I balance my many nerdy endeavors by being a full-time partyer/wildboy.

I’m hoping this class will serve as a catalyst for a resurgence of sorts in my gaming life. In what was obviously a misguided effort to have a comprehensive critical opinion on every good game available, I swore off all next-gen (now current-gen) games and systems, refusing to play anything from the 360/PS3/Wii generation until I beat all the titles I deemed worthy from the two generations I grew up with (PlayStation thru XBOX). I make exceptions for sports games, specifically FIFA and 2K, and Super Street Fighter IV. The last major string of single-player games I beat was in the months of Sept thru Nov of 2011 and included MGS: Subsistence, Ratchet & Clank, Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando, Z.O.E. 2: The 2nd Runner, Rez, Prince of Persia: Warrior Within, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, God of War II, The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape From Butcher Bay, and Burnout 3: Takedown. I also beat Killer7 at the end of last year, but since then there’s been a gap.

Despite what it might look like, RPGs are probably my favorite genre. My Top 5 of all-time goes something like the Final Fantasy series at the top followed by Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, then the first Metal Gear SolidShenmue, and then Chrono Trigger/Chrono Cross. And yes, I realize that’s more than five games. Enjoy.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

