//
you're reading...
reality is broken

Happiness Hacks

This section focuses a great deal on different ways that games can make us happy by making our lives more intrinsically rewarding and social. What are your happiness hacks? Do they involve gaming? Do the things McGonigal says make sense or are your skeptical?

My primary happiness hack is easily exercise. I generally workout an hour a day, five or six days a week. I notice the shift in my mindset when work gets in the way of exercise. When I read this book though, it makes me think that I should make time for gaming, even if its just a causal iPhone game, during the day.

About Alex Reid

Associate Professor and Director of Composition in the English Department at the University at Buffalo

Discussion

One thought on “Happiness Hacks

  1. My most common happiness hack comes in the form of longboarding. Not only does it provide a speedy way to travel from class to class, but it provides a sense of freedom from the things that might be weighing me down on that particular day. The thing I love about boarding is the fact that you can go pretty much anywhere there’s pavement, and I’m always on the lookout for good spots like big hills and smooth pavement. The bigger the hill, the more speed I can get, the more adrenaline and good feelings. I understand where McGonigal is coming from when she discusses how games make your blood pump and a fiero moment here and there, but in my opinion, they have nothing on the feeling I get when I’m flying past mailboxes and parked cars at 35 mph. However, I suppose video games throughout the day would make for a suitable substitute for my fiero fix on rainy days when I can’t take my board out.

    Posted by sccrdude540 | May 24, 2013, 12:13 am

Leave a Reply

