//
you're reading...
how to do things with videogames

Video Games and Art

The first question that Bogost starts his book off with is “Are video games art?”. I think that this is a very interesting question and I think that what people consider art is a pretty controversial topic. Personally, I am on the fence when it comes to my opinion of whether I think video games are art or not. I know that it takes a lot of effort and time to create a video game (especially with the graphics they use today). However, I never would have considered it a work of art. Bogost says that art is “hardly a fixed and uncontroversial topic” (11) and it is this quote that made me begin to realize that just because video games may not be what we think of when we hear the word “art”, that does not mean that they could not be considered art. Some video games, like the proceduralist video games that Bogost talked about, represent something (a feeling, situation, etc) the same way a painting would. This is the reason part of me believes that video games can be considered art. Art is a way to express a feeling or situation so if a video game does that, why couldn’t it be considered art? In a later chapter, Bogost discusses something called Kitsch. I looked up some of Kinkade’s work and was amazed. I spent a lot of time on Orisinal.com playing all of the games (they are really cute and fun). I thought that these games and also the other examples he used (like diner dash) could definitely be considered this form of art.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Video Games and Art

  1. I think its difficult to not consider video games a form of art. There is so much put into them, including stills of what would be considered traditional art, that it isn’t really fair to say they aren’t. If we can consider movies a form of art, in which the director composes the actors to perform the way he wants in an aesthetically pleasing way, video games are merely the next step in that. They stimulate us visually and audibly, like a movie does, but also interactively as the player controls some aspects of the game. The way in which the player interacts with the virtual world is also controlled by the game designer and varies from game to game. So not only would I consider video games art, I would say they require even more artistic talents than other forms of art.

    Posted by Ben Tarhan | June 3, 2013, 12:05 am
  2. I was also sceptical when I first thought of videogames as art, but reached the same conclusion. Although videogames may not be what comes to mind when you first think of art, when you really start to think about the aesthetic aspects and time, effort, and extensive planning that goes into even the minor details of creating videogames it seems completely feasible. The creators of videogames are artists in their own way and the game is their canvas. I’m sure that the feelings/emotions would be similar between an artist finishing his/her work/painting and a videogame creator finishing their videogame. I think it’s hard to think about videogames as art because we take so much for granted. We want to play the game, but sometimes we completely ignore the settings/landscapes and the small details that enhance our experience as gamers.

    Posted by snanders | June 3, 2013, 2:38 am
  3. I would absolutely consider video games a form of art. I would even go as far as to say video games are almost like story books. Included with all of this talk about art in the background and graphics, video games are often judged on their story lines. Games like Assassin’s Creed are known for their story lines, and it enhances the game as much as good graphics would. Speaking from personal experience, I can say the ending of a game, and the twists and turns the plot has can make or break it. I have lost interest in games I’ve played over the year because I lost interest in the plot. In my opinion a story line is just as important as the graphics of a game and should also be considered art.

    Posted by nrfico | June 18, 2013, 3:20 pm

Leave a Reply

