//
you're reading...
games research

Gaming and Education; remember any of these???

So for my project to give a refresher I am comparing the effects of gaming on a toddler, my 4yr old niece, using a leapfrog game unit. She is currently not in school and I will be tracking her progress and how she interacts with the unit. I will test her on a level and revisit that same level later on to gauge progress.

While doing some research I came across an interesting site and I thought I would share it with the class. How many do you remember? What was your first experience with one like? Enjoy

http://tops115.blogspot.com/2009/07/10-most-influential-educational-video.html

Discussion

One thought on “Gaming and Education; remember any of these???

  1. I just literally laughed out loud in the middle of the Starbucks I choose to do my work in, because I can remember just about any one of the close to 100 hours of Oregon Trail I played growing up. It is really surprising how influential critical thinking is to development, to the point where I feel as though these games have developed me to who I am today. I play a lot of video games, but can only manage to stick to ones that make me think. Oregon trail made you optimize purchases, figure out which choices were more important, and it allowed for an environment to take risks and learn through trial and error.

    Each of these games brings me back to a little portion of my life. Lemonade stand was a game I had to play in high school for an economics class and whoever made the most profit got the highest grade. This is a prime example of how games can teach someone the way a business works, and the value of a dollar. Solitaire is an interesting game in that while it seems just to pass time, it is a game of memory and one of the fundamental building blocks of my critical thinking. Anyone can be taught to play solitaire and with Windows keeping track of the rules, it makes a structured thinking environment.

    Interestingly enough, these are some of the simplest games with even simpler algorithms, this instance happen then, basic equations, if they get to here they win type of game. These algorithms, simple yes, but complex in their effects on the user. Simple provides room for the user to be creative and work with his mind rather than matter. Games help develop the cognitive thoughts of today’s youth.

    Posted by jbort94 | June 14, 2013, 8:10 am

Leave a Reply

