//
you're reading...
games research

Research Blog #9: Introduction

Now that I have completed most of the research that I believe will be necessary for me to write my paper, I have started to write out the intro and my thesis.  However, I am not quite sure what my actual thesis is.  I know that I want to discuss how video games can be included in the classroom, but also why they should be included in the first place.  Here is my first draft of my introduction to my paper:

It is common knowledge that throughout history, new technologies have changed the lifestyles of so many people.  Thanks to some very important inventions, society has become the way it is today.  Inventions like the printing press and the computer have impacted how people not only communicate thoughts and ideas, but also how they learn.  This has also impacted the educational system throughout the world.  Thanks to new technologies, people are constantly able to learn new things in new ways at a much faster pace than the generations before.  There seems to currently be, however, a halt in the change of the face of education.  Recently, classrooms have not changed at the same pace as the world outside of them, and they have been stuck in the same place for quite some time now.

Since the 1970s, playing video games has been a growing pastime for all sorts of people.  Fast forward to the current date and video games are everywhere.  They can be found not only on consoles designed specifically for the use of playing, but also on our computers and phones.  Video games have been used as advertisements and parts of political campaigns.  It is true that they literally are everywhere we go.  That is everywhere except one place: the classroom.  The typical classroom has not changed with society simply because it has blocked out a very influential part of modern day life.  Without the video game, the classroom is a place separated and different than the outside world, so it is time to incorporate the outside world, meaning the one that includes video games, into the classroom.  Questions arise with this issue such as how this can be done, what benefits video games have on learning, and if students would actually benefit from a curriculum that allows video games to be played right in school.

Discussion

One thought on “Research Blog #9: Introduction

  1. After skimming your posts, I’m shocked you’ve not come across or been pointed towards Nintendo’s Brain Age for the DS. It’s quite a game and remarkably relevant to the focus of your research project. I’ll get you started: it’s a videogame that is essentially a series of mental exercises. You can play the little mind games as much as you want but can only test your “Brain Age” once a day. The idea is that you play a little bit each day, sharpening up your mental acuity until you are able to reach the ideal Brain Age, or score, of 20. Here’s the kicker–IT’S ACTUALLY FUN. And it works! I was at a point where I’d play once a day and I was just flyinggg through my Brain Age tests, consistently scoring a 20–and I really felt like I was sharper in real life, too! Supposedly there’s plenty of empirical data to support this and I think it’s an integral focus piece for your research.

    Posted by bretth2 | June 25, 2013, 6:23 pm

Leave a Reply

