//
you're reading...
games research

Video Games and Violence

I had a difficult time picking my topic but I ended up deciding to look into how video games are affected by violence. To me violence in games has never really been a big deal, but I do understand some of the objections other people have with it. Part of my interest lies in the fact that I am a legal studies major here at buffalo, and I think it would tie in nicely with some of the experience I already have. I know there are many games, some of them more popular than others, that include some sort of violence. One of the more famous games is Grand Theft Auto. This series happened to contain more violence than your usual game thanks for your ability to walk around and “interact” with people within the game. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the game, thinks like drugs, murder, theft, and sex are all activities you can partake in within the game. Now freedom of speech allows games like these to be created, but should sensors be used? Is this type of gaming necessary, especially for gamers under 20 years old? Many people feel there should be, while other feel like it is an infringement of their rights?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

