//
you're reading...
games research

Level Up! (Research Blog7)

In my research I came across a lovely hub of game essays on this website called “The Game Critique.” Through that site I found two essays that really blew my research open—a couple of multipage efforts that more or less directly discuss my exact thesis. One of the essays is actually a response to the other—the first is a comprehensive dissection of game criticism, highlighting problems and distinguishing categories of such analysis. Those classifications include traditional reviews, playthroughs, commentary of culture/the humanities/the sciences, industry analysis, game analysis, and meta-discussions of game criticism. The article goes to great lengths to have elevated discussion of these issues and has plenty material applicable to my prospective focus.

The response article is equally, if not more comprehensive. The second is largely an attack of the first, but both have loads of excellent excerpts for me. Finally I’m feeling I have enough academic sources to draw upon and I’m going to start forming the various bullet notes I’ve ripped off into a cohesive, flowing piece of writing.

., Danc. “Lost Garden: A blunt critique of game criticism.” Lost Garden. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 June 2013. <http://www.lostgarden.com/2011/05/blunt-critique-of-game-criticism.html&gt;.

Swain, Eric. “In Which I Respond to A Blunt Critique of Game Criticism.” The Game Critique. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 June 2013. <www.thegamecritique.com/recent-posts/in-which-i-respond-to-a-blunt-critique-of-game-criticism/3592/>.

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

