//
you're reading...
games research

The Critic in Me, Pt. II (Research Blog6)

I’m starting to form a more focused thesis here, and furthermore, I’m finally finding enough of these elusive “academic sources” to get comfortable continuing down this path. My plan is to detail a history of critical evaluation of videogames through the two generations I am most familiar with, starting with the original PlayStation and going all the way through to the first XBOX. This will give me a chance to flex my own critical skillz and also give me a chance to dig up a few of my HUNDREDS of old gaming magazines for some of my favorite reviews to use in conjunction with the scholarly online sources.

Off the top of my head, I can recall a number of reviews that can ideally illustrate the evolution of critical analysis in games: GameSpot’s (at the time operating under the domain name “videogames.com”) reviews of Final Fantasy VIITekken 3 and Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time; (the now defuct) PSM’s coverage of titles like Xenogears and Street Fighter Alpha 3; OPM’s take on Ico; EGM’s view of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty and Halo: Combat Evolved; and Game Informer’s look at Ratchet & Clank: Up Your Arsenal could all contribute to a study like this.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

